Honors and Awards

Since our founding in 1975, Juvenile Law Center has been consistently recognized for our efforts in protecting children's rights and interests in the foster care and justice system.

Most notably, in 2008, Juvenile Law Center was awarded the internationally renowned MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions, and was described by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation as being a "model for other legal child advocacy groups across the nation."

We continue to receive numerous awards—including the Harrisburg Patriot-News "Best of 2009" Award and the Philadelphia Inquirer's 2009 "Citizens of the Year" Award—for our recent work in uncovering the egregious "kids-for-cash" juvenile justice scandal in Luzerne County.

  • Child Advocate of the Year, Pennsylvania Bar Association Children's Rights Committee (2014): Jennifer Pokempner
  • Arlen Specter Award, The Legal Intelligencer (2013): Marsha Levick
  • Webby Award for Best "Law" Website, International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (2013): Juvenile Law Center
  • Gloria J. Jenkins Award for Outstanding Contributions to Juvenile Justice Reform, Annie E. Casey Foundation Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative (2013): Juvenile Law Center
  • Thurgood Marshall Award, Philadelphia Bar Association, Criminal Justice Section (2011): Robert Schwartz and Marsha Levick
  • Leonard E. Weinglass in Defense of Civil Liberties Award, American Association for Justice (2010): Marsha Levick
  • Shepherds of Peace Award, Good Shepherd Mediation Society (2010): Marsha Levick
  • Women of Distinction Award, The Legal Intelligencer (2010): Marsha Levick, Lourdes Rosado
  • Livingston Hall Award, American Bar Association (2010): Marsha Levick
  • Champion of Social Justice Award, Rutgers Law School, Camden (2010): Marsha Levick
  • A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award, Coalition for Juvenile Justice (2010): Robert Schwartz
  • Clifford Scott Green Bill of Rights Award, Federal Bar Association, Philadelphia Chapter, Criminal Law Section (2009): Robert Schwartz, Marsha Levick, Lourdes Rosado
  • Paul H. Chapman Award, Foundation for Improvement of Justice (2009): Marsha Levick
  • Citizens of the Year Award, Philadelphia Inquirer (2009): Marsha Levick, Lourdes Rosado
  • David Frey Community Service for Peace Award, Peace and Justice Center (2009): Juvenile Law Center
  • Impact Award, National GAINS Center (2009): Lourdes Rosado
  • Andrew Hamilton Award, Philadelphia Bar Association (2009): Marsha Levick
  • Meritorious Service Award, Pennsylvania Prison Society (2009): Marsha Levick
  • Best of 2009, Harrisburg Patriot-News (2009): Juvenile Law Center
  • Liberty Award, Pennsylvania Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (2008): Juvenile Law Center
  • Child Advocate of the Year Award, Pennsylvania Bar Association (2008): Marsha Levick
  • Creative and Effective Institutions Award, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation (2008): Juvenile Law Center
  • Professional Achievement Award, Temple Law School Women's Law Caucus (2006): Marsha Levick
  • Stephen M. Cahn Award for Career Achievement, National Association of Counsel for Children (2004): Robert Schwartz
  • Child Advocate of the Year Award, Pennsylvania Bar Association (2001): Robert Schwartz
  • Livingston Hall Award, American Bar Association (2001): Robert Schwartz
  • Andrew Hamilton Award, Philadelphia Bar Association (1996): Robert Schwartz
  • Reginald Heber Smith Award, National Legal Aid and Defender Association (1994): Robert Schwartz
  • Children & Youth Advocates Award, Philadelphia County Child Welfare Advisory Board (1988): Juvenile Law Center
  • Haverford Award for Service to Society, Haverford College (1978): Robert Schwartz